NDFB scholarship winners announced

Created: 5/19/15 (Tue) | Topic: Education

Nineteen individuals from around the state have been awarded scholarships through the North Dakota Farm Bureau Foundation.
The scholarships are a project of the NDFB Promotion and Education (P&E) Committee. This year a total of $9,500 in scholarships were awarded.
“Education is so important and as an education committee we feel it is very important to help support students looking to further their knowledge,” said NDFB Director of Leadership Development Joey Tigges.  “We really appreciate everyone who supports this scholarship program by giving to the NDFB Foundation.”
The Becki Palmer Scholarship, for high school seniors, honors a North Dakota Farm Bureau employee who lost her battle with cancer in 2006. Winners of this $500 scholarship are: Alexandra Laber of Fargo, Angela Richter of Menoken, Calvin Aichele of Beulah, Myles Odermann of Parshall, Katelyn Oland of Sheldon, Ryan Tompson of Lakota, Shelby Grabanski of Kindred and Laura Brandjord of Bottineau.
The NDFB Agriculture Scholarship is for an undergraduate student majoring in agriculture that has completed or will be completing their freshman year of post-secondary school. The winners of this $500 scholarship are Kristi Tonnessen of Towner and Jacob Lardy of West Fargo.
The Farm Bureau Family Membership Scholarship is awarded to a current Farm Bureau member or family member who has or will have completed their freshman year of college. The winners of this $500 scholarship are Abby Braatan of Barney, Molly Collette of Grafton, Stephanie Sundhagen of Tioga, and Amy Smith of Carrington.
The Graduate Scholarship is awarded to a student enrolled or currently attending graduate school. The winner of this $500 scholarship is Sara Scott from Spiritwood.  
The Future of Agriculture Scholarship is for students graduating high school this spring that are enrolled in an agriculture college. The winners of this $500 scholarship are Ramsey Balsdon of Osnabrock, Gwen Scheresky of Max, MacKenzie Derry of Thompson, and Dahltin Pahl of Ellendale.  
Applications for the 2016 scholarships will be available in December 2015. Visit the NDFB website at for a listing of scholarships available. Scholarship applications are due April 15 of each year.
For more information on the scholarships or on the Promotion and Education Committee programs please contact Joey Tigges at 701-298-2227 or
If you would like to donate to the North Dakota Farm Bureau Foundation, go to


Share on Pinterest

Do you have a news story to share? Send it to us and we might post it on our website!

Back To Top